An unhappy experience

In the recent times I have noticed that people behave in the most unbelievable and unfathomable manner. These experiences leave us some times bitter some times hurt some times with feeling of being cheated. How can one trust when people are just not trust worthy?

While life introduces you to various events that work to enrich our experiences, many a time they result in taking a toll on ones trust and faith factor. Amongst the numerous such experiences in my life, a recent one has left me numb totally. My philanthropic activities of promoting and propagating Dance art received wide appreciation from friends, connoisseurs and art lovers. One of my appreciators Lata Bhandary who has a keen interest in arts telephonically introduced me to a new comer to the world of arts. He along with A curator came to meet me and told me about a very ambitious art gallery project. The space was ready for inauguration and was truly a beautiful and had great potential. 

He invited me to work with him and create activities at the gallery, since I was already doing so much work I thought it might be nice to get involved and create events in the cute and small auditorium housed inside the gallery. Oct 2, we organised an event as a joint collaboration bearing the costs on a 50:50 deal. The organisation was in a win win situation, I would bring in all the senior artists in Bangalore and I would also bear 50% of the costs. The event was a super success, we immediately planned November too. 

I invested my personal relationships and got gurus to take classes in kuchipudi Bharata natyam Odissi and Kathak, we also announced music classes…….and within a period of just 40 days so much had got going………..

And then suddenly, the cookie crumbled………a financial crisis crops up……..there is no money to pay salaries……..all activity to be suspended by the end of the month………

how should one feel? When some one says he is in a financial crisis I felt sorry for the project……..sorry for the people who planned the project…….Ok, so I understand return a token amount given to me for the work and support I 

He sacks all the staff working in the organisation……. At a stroke four young professionals are jobless! He actually took the token amount back…..probably needed it!

How do you trust people who are inconsistent? They continue to parade and will continue to use and throw people! Now he has forged a new alliance! How long before another such episode takes place? So was that crisis a farce and totally untrue?

I realise that once again I failed to judge correctly. For me it’s no loss, this year it will be close to 35 years working in the area of fine arts. This is an experience I chose to share with out taking names as it’s not my intention to malign anyone, just to warn every one to be careful when you are approached, careful when you help or support people…….not all deserve it or are worth it!!!

Leave a comment