2012 a recap with gratitude

 

 

December 31, 2012

My dear friend,

Today the year draws to a close…….a new year begins …….time to reflect on the highs and lows of 2012 and allow introspection to better the happenings of 2013.

For me 2012 was full of dance and dancers, it is the blessing of the lord that I was the chosen one. I am overwhelmed with joy that I could present some very creative and challenging  performances by some of Bangalore’s best dancers. My vow for 2012 was to contribute atleast 3 lakhs for the arts from my earnings……….I am happy I did much more………..

The year unfolded with the “priceless treasures – JEWELS EXOTICA” with Vani Ganapathy and some of Bangalores women celebs including Dr. Suma Sudhindra, Jija Harisingh, Gitanjali Kirloskar, Kavitha Lankesh etc….Nath and Rajesh what a classy and fab event we all put together. Thanks Vani for the once in a life time opportunity.

The Tamarind Tree and Basava – Venkatram Reddy became a second home, various exhibitions at Basava uniquely designed gave me the “highs” !

March was Margam…..a way ahead……..

The three day festival presented traditional varnams that had not been seen in some time. Thank you dancers for doing your very best. Poornima & Satya my gratitude to hold my hand and make this a success. Chowdiah Memorial Hall – for giving me the audi FOCJ

Suguna – your visit for “Margam- dance festival” was such a joy and every moment was spent with a smile on our faces…..got to do it in 2013 tooo some time. Resolution : make time for me!!

Hues & Emotions at the Tamarind Tree was a path breaking event. Navarasa through music for the first ever time and contemporary paintings of these nine emotions based on ragas that were complimentary to the emotion or rasa! Phew!! The musicians were my dear friends Suma Sudhndra, Praveen Godkhindi, Manasi Prasad and Dhananjay Hegde they were accompanied by Shivu – the magic percussionist, kiran godkhindi and others and the paintings were by my long standing friend and artist Sudesh Mahan. What an event!!!!

April ensconced my birthday and dancer friends celebrated it completely extempore style Vani, poornima, sai and suparna, Karthik etc. Satya thank you dude enjoyed every minute of it.

June brought in rains in Bangalore – Varsha Ritu!!! We celebrated it at Tamarind Tree. Dance and music spread the divine season……cool breezes…….light drizzles……..the creepers dancing in the moonlight…….Poetic and romantic. Artists included Dr. Vaishali Srinivas, Praveen Godkhindi, Nadam ensemble and Satyanarayana Raju.

21st July was yet another unique “Maheshwar ki katha” at Basava ‘s exhibition of maheshwari saris…….satya wove the story of maheshwar and how the saris began to be woven there……appreciation and accolades galore!!

July was spent planning and negotiating for a truly thought provoking seminar “KALA VIMARSHANA” almost all the thinking musicians and dancers, critics, writers and organisers of arts were participating. A couple of hiccups…..some not so happy arguements ……leading to my health getting disturbed………..on the eve of the seminar I was down with severe stomach pain, I felt and knew I would have to be hospitalised, at around 6 am I pleaded with Suma (who was involved in planning and advising me from the start on this subject) to take it up and conduct the event in my absence she held fort and did a magnificent joy. Just like they say “The show must go on” I remembered Raj Kapoor ji who went to delhi to accept his Dada Saheb Phalke award and then was wheeled to the hospital where he bid us good bye. I insisted on going to the venue making the opening speech, handing it over to Lakshmi Viswanathan and then left the venue vomiting and in complete pain. July 31 was an eventful day!!!!

August 2 I got operated for a band that constricted my intestine. Aug 3 got discharged.

August 4, was one my life time dreams – presenting an evening of Thyagaraja Keertanas through dance. The program was a super duper success and saw unprecedented crowds at the Gayana Samaja………….stars performed Manju Bhargavi, Satya, Subhashini, Soundarya, Murali mohan, Smita, Rasika ensemble, Mithun, Srinivasan, Radhika etcccccc. Yenta Muddu yenta Sogasu………jagadananda karaka……..endaro mahanubhavulu……

August 21st saw the emergence a young girl gang “chaturgamini” four dancers anju, aditi, pruthvi and gowri did a great job, i enjoyed working with them and compering for them too.

August 25 Suma received the Veena Seshanna award at Raj Bhavan, a proud moment and congrats to her for a single minded focus on her art.

September began with compering for my dearest designer d……..Deepti Sudhindra at CMH. Was a different presentation and the start of Bangalore International Arts Festival………Cheers to one of bangalore’s best festivals of arts.

Workshop by Lakshmi Viswanathan just for 2 days but full of entertainment and knowledge. Theruvil varaano…..a padam that is always one of my favourite.

My biggest and bestest gift came in October…….my first award or rather title for all that I have contributed to the world of arts from 1979 till date………..Samanvay Kalasri loved the moment was on the same stage as Prof. Nagamani Srinath and that was truly uplifting for me. Veenaaaaaammmmmaaaa thank you for this moment and am indebted to you forever. Tumne woh diya jo kisine na diya……….

Chief VN Subbarao left us. Will always remember and thank you for all the lessons in journalism, guidance and teachings. Chief you were great.

November – Music festival at Chowdiah Memorial hall, compering does give me a”high” preparing about the artists and singing their praises comes so naturally to me….Thank god for this blessing and attribute.

It was family time in December – met my cousins at Chennai and a happy moment when i held my IPAD 4 its such an awesome gadget………

Today is Dec 31, will spend tonite by myself at home. Need the time to thank each one of you who has touched my life through the year.

I have to thank the almighty for giving me this lease of life, the vocation that is my passion, for giving me all these people.

I need to thank those who stand by me : Kanchana, Rk, Venkat, Vani………..

I need to thank those who believed in me and gave me opportunities that me proud………

I need to express my gratitude to alllll the artists who held my hand in creating these mind blowing and path breaking events……….

Please continue to be by my side always……….the manner in which I pay respects to the hospitals………I do not want to lose this opportunity to say a big “THANK YOU”

Kaun jaane “kal ho na ho”

Love always

Usha Rk

Leave a comment